Skip to content

Under-things at Blue House Gallery

February 14, 2016

Known for abstract, brightly painted canvases, Bridgette Bogle explores new materials, palettes and construction in her new work at Blue House gallery.  Using the tradition of stretcher bars as a structural foundation, the work expands, drips and pushes off the wall, with subtle accents of color through stitching, paint stains and commercial printed fabrics.

Bridgette Bogle, "Little Sarlacc," Fabric, gouache

Bridgette Bogle, “Little Sarlacc,” Fabric, gouache

From Bogle’s artist statement for Under-things:

“Despite its universal nature (everyone is born somehow or another), pregnancy has shrunk my focus to a vigilant awareness of my body.  Literally, I’ve spent the last eight months navel gazing.

P1270119

Bridgette Bogle, "Bumper"

Bridgette Bogle, “Bumper”

This work is an outgrowth of that myopia; acting as a welcome distraction from the twin tugs of responsibility and anxiety accompanying these changes.  This show is my impractical nursery instincts manifest.  Sewing together well-washed sheets is comforting.  The trinity of baby colors: light blue, pink and yellow, has defined my palette.  Making these pieces lets me come to terms with physiological changes: fullness, leaking, pressure, parts of my that used to be hard being soft (like my pelvis) and things that used to be soft being hard (like my belly).

Bridgette Bogle, "Stork"

Bridgette Bogle, “Stork”

Alongside an awareness of my rapidly changing shape, a more sculptural dynamic has emerged in my process.  And although they are ever-present under the surface, I’ve so far only met my children through touch and feeling. Their soft tactile thumps and fumbling remind of the joy of being pregnant.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Under-things is on view at Blue House Gallery through March. Find out more by visiting https://www.facebook.com/thebluehousegallery/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

